Friday’s Green and Frugal Five

This week has been crazy busy! I’ve committed to another training course, we’re trying to let the back bedroom, we are going away for a weekend party and need to pack costumes and bedding… all a bit manic.

  • This morning I cut my hair myself! I’d been putting it off for ages, not wanting to spend c.£20 just to cut off a layer of hair at the back which had outgrown the rest. But I gritted my teeth, sat on the edge of the bath, and hacked it off with a pair of scissors. I was a bit worried, owing to the fact that I couldn’t see what I was doing and had to navigate by touch, but it turned out great! It’s made such a difference – I feel really confident about my hair now.
  • I’ve signed up to a five-week training course on Thursday nights for my secondary job, which I won’t be paid for, but I will get a certificate for and get to put on my CV. Anything that helps me out with that job, where I’m doing a lot on little money and pretty much zero training, has to be good! I guess it’s not obviously frugal, but improving skills seems like a good long-term investment.
  • Despite having work in the morning, needing to clean the house, then needing to make a dinner to take to a new training course on Thursday… I managed to show the back bedroom to a potential house-mate. I’m not sure he’ll take it, but I made the effort, which is important as the room is empty and we’re not making any money from that at the moment.
  • Delayed a grocery shop until next week sometime. We have a bunch of stuff in the cupboard and freezer, and I’m eating a lot of canned soup at the moment anyway, so I’m not too worried.
  • I’ve started using a budget/account software. Sadly I’m having to do it on my iPad, rather than my Android phone where the apps are better, but that’s because my phone screen is poorly and I’m putting off getting it fixed. I haven’t enjoyed using budgeting apps before, as they made me rather depressed about money, but I thought I’d give it a go for a bit. It’ll make it easier to track my no-spend-days, and identify what it is I’m spending money on. Let’s see if it brings me down!

As ever, this post is inspired by Katy and her intriguing commenters.

Friday’s Green and Frugal Five

Leave a Reply

