Friday’s Green and Frugal Five

What a week! I know I’ve said this before, but I’ve put myself in a bind for the next month with a lot of evening/weekday activities, so I’m feeling the pressure somewhat. There just isn’t the usual time to consider everything, and I’m a little worn out some days. So, not much surprise that I’m late on this week’s Five.

  • This is the first time in ten years I haven’t camped out for the bank holiday. Saved c.£30 in petrol, £50 in ticket, £25+ in food, £10 travel expenses, and didn’t generate substantial rubbish or CO2. Spent much less than this donating to the honeymoon fund of two friends who got married this weekend and generously invited us to share their day, feeding us two meals and giving us an excellent excuse to dress up and dance!
  • Gave a lift back to town to a wonderful couple who we met at the wedding, saving them cash and cutting down on journeys/petrol/CO2 between us.
  • Didn’t buy a shredder, instead burnt old papers in the backyard. I think considering the cost of producing a shredder, shipping, electricity, and our only very occasional need to destroy personal papers, this is the best solution.
  • Had a extravagant (for us) but broadly well behaved Anniversary day with my partner, eating out at an all-you-can-eat sushi restaurant and drinking tap water, and using a Meerkat Movies voucher to see a film for half price afterwards. Total cost c.£44 for both of us.
  • Complained about a book I bought off an Amazon seller that was listed “as new” and has a torn dust jacket and water staining. Pleased to be given 50% off; I don’t mind the damage to the book and I’m happy to keep it, I just mind the listing being wrong. 

As ever , this post inspired by Katy and the NCA folk.

Friday’s Green and Frugal Five

Leave a Reply

